One of the features that was released as a part of the iOS 11 update on Apple devices was the ability to record your screen at the tap of a button. This is a fantastic tool for many reasons, but also extremely dangerous when you think of how it could be used with an app like Snapchat.


When the update was first released last month, users could secretly record others’ snaps, making expectations of privacy even worse off than they were before. Now, Snapchat has updated their app and will now alert users when their snaps are being recorded specifically via iOS 11, with the catch that the one doing the recording needs to download the update.

Of course, just because you might get an alert doesn’t mean that someone else won’t still record your snaps. Always send content via the app with caution.

As the company states on its support page: “Snapchatters who see your messages can always potentially save them, whether by taking a screenshot or by using some other image-capture technology (whether that be a separate piece of software, or even simply taking a photo of their screen with a second camera).”

 

via Independent