The time has finally come for the return of one of the greatest legends of techno. Under his Plastikman guise, Richie Hawtin will bring an album titled EX for 2014. This album will be the first full-length, studio-album Richie delivers since 2003’s Closer.

Richie Hawtin went into great detail about the new album in a press release saying,

“The music came out of me effortlessly as I was very inspired by the opportunity to play in this beautiful architectural space renowned more for art than music. The location also allowed me to step far away from the dancefloor, giving me a huge amount of freedom to EXplore any sonic ideas that I had. Art, music, architecture, painting, sculpture – these mediums are supposed to live together.”

The album’s track listing has also been announced. Each song starts with the letters “e” and “x” at the start of every song name. The full album includes the following:

  1. EXposed
  2. EXtend
  3. EXpand
  4. EXtrude
  5. EXplore
  6. EXpire
  7. EXhale

The record label Mute will be distributing this album digitally and physically on June 10th and July 15th respectively. Special editions of the upcoming album will come with a Plastikman customized mobile piece of cutting-edge audio technology called Subpack. His next show will be at the Sonar Festival in Barcelona, Spain on June 12th.