Monstercat 026 – Resistance is finally here. Already #1 on the iTunes dance charts, the album once again makes a statement to the record industry about the abilities of independent artists. In addition, the artwork continues to follow the “Monstercat story” that the art has been metaphorically writing since the release of 011 in late 2012, showing our beloved cat in a (literally) heated battle with the “evil cat” first seen in 025 (to some theorists, 017 and 018).

Although the artwork is great as always (s/o Petirep), I’m much more interested in the music of 026. The album is unique in many ways, one being that it has more LP release tracks (HaywyreTut Tut Child and Karma Fields) than any Monstercat album yet, along with a load of EP release tracks. However, the main thing to take from the diversity of 026 is its sheer number of new artist appearances. Including both vocalists and producers, there are 14 brand-new additions to the Monstercat family:

  1. Aaron Richards
  2. Talib Kweli
  3. The Nicholas
  4. Sebastian Lind
  5. Conro
  6. Loosid
  7. Raycee Jones
  8. Melano
  9. Hush
  10. All About She
  11. Cormak
  12. Jhyve
  13. Ehiorobo
  14. Supermans Feinde

If you’re on the fence about buying the album, don’t give it a second thought. Just do it. Remember, by purchasing, you’re supporting the careers of these 14 artists, along with 29 returning artists.

Listen to Monstercat 026 – Resistance and buy the album below:

Support on iTunes:
Support on Bandcamp:
Support on Google Play: