The first-ever Electronic Music Awards went down last night… And, while the nominations list boasted an insane amount of talent and variety, some of the winners are questionable.

No awards show is perfect, but the one category we were most put off by was the “Single of the Year” announcement. In our opinion, Skrillex & Rick Ross “Purple Lamborghini,” Porter Robinson & Madeon “Shelter,” Martin Garrix & Dua Lipa “Scared to be Lonely,” DJ Snake featuring Justin Bieber “Let Me Love You” — and even The Chainsmokers featuring Halsey “Closer” all would have been better winners than what was dubbed “Single of the Year.”

In the end, “Cold Water” by Major Lazer featuring Justin Bieber and  took the cake.

The EMAs were broadcast live via Twitter from Los Angeles, CA last night, under the designated hashtag #EMAwards. Producers, DJs, and industry professionals joined together to celebrate the genre with the very first awards show exclusively for electronic music.

Major Lazer – Cold Water (feat. Justin Bieber & MØ)


Photo via Oh Dag Yo Photography