Ever since 2011, electronic group M83 has remained relatively quiet on the music front. Their breakthrough album Hurry Up, We’re Dreaming was followed by several years of silence, broken only a few times for film scores and TV soundtracks. After all this time however, the group has finally reemerged back into the scene with an exiciting announcement for a brand new album, Junk.

Coming on April 8, 2016 via Mute.com, the album’s tracklist reveals several collaborations, including Beck, Mai Lan, Jordan Lawler and Susanne Sundfør. In a press release, band member Anthony Gonzalez revealed some of his own ideas behind the upcoming album’s significance.

“Anything we create today is going to end up being space junk at one point anyway, and I find it really fascinating and scary at the same time – beautiful too in a way. I have this image of pieces of humanity floating in space, lost forever. It also means that nowadays everything goes so fast and everybody is kind of throwing away art in a certain manner. People will listen to an album for instance and just pick a track they like to put on a playlist. They’re not going to take the time to listen to an album anymore because they have to jump on the next thing.”

Even though we’ll be anxiously waiting for another month for the full album, the group has kindly lent us its first single for immediate listening. “Do It, Try It” comes as a joyful, funky anthem that brings us straight back into the mindset of five years ago when their name could be found on every festival roster across the country. Tide yourself over by listening to it below, and scroll further down to check out the album’s official cover art and tracklist.


01 Do It, Try It
02 Go! [ft. Mai Lan]
03 Walkway Blues [ft. Jordan Lawlor]
04 Bibi the Dog [ft. Mai Lan]
05 Moon Crystal
06 For the Kids [ft. Susanne Sundfør]
07 Solitude
08 The Wizard
09 Laser Gun  [ft. Mai Lan]
10 Road Blaster
11 Tension
12 Atlantique Sud  [ft. Mai Lan]
13 Time Wind [ft. Beck]
14 Ludivine
15 Sunday Night 1987


Source: Pitchfork