Yes, you read that title correctly. Daft Punk, Skrillex, Deadmau5, Swedish House Mafia, Martin Garrix, and more are about to be immortalized in an orchestral remix album.

Titled Dance Music Symphony, this new album will present a whopping 17 tracks of EDM’s finest productions, composed by Scandinavia’s Hans Ek and performed by the Royal Stockholm Philharmonic. The orchestral arrangements will be debut on July 2 at Sweden’s Bråvalla Festival, and will release on June 24th via X5 Music Group. Here’s what Hans Ek said of the new endeavor:

“I listened through a vast amount of dance classics and new hits. From a palette of the greatest music I selected songs perfectly suite to a symphonic ‘remix.’ For example, Massive Attack’s ‘Unfinished Sympathy’ already had a strong orchestral presence, and Daft Punk’s ‘Aerodynamic’ had elements of Vivaldi and Prokofiev.”

Classical arrangements of electronic dance music are nothing new, and they’ve proven to be just as enthralling as their amplified counterparts, further showcasing the depths of emotion behind each production. We’ve seen it in Above & Beyond’s Acoustic albums, and in countless fan-made covers like those from Evan Duffy.


01 Swedish House Mafia: “Greyhound”
02 Ten Walls: “Walking with Elephants”
03 Massive Attack: “Unfinished Sympathy”
04 The Knife: “Silent Shout”
05 Faithless: “Insomnia”
06 The Chemical Brothers: “Galvanize”
07 Ellen Allien & Apparat: “Retina”
08 Skrillex: “First of the Year (Equinox)”
09 Nina Kraviz: “Walking in the Night”
10 Aphex Twin: “#3”
11 Deadmau5: “Strobe”
12 Martin Garrix: “Animals”
13 Calvin Harris, Alesso, Hurts: “Under Control”
14 Avicii: “Levels”
15 Underworld: “Born Slippy (Nuxx)”
16 Energy 52: “Cafe Del Mar”
17 Daft Punk: “Aerodynamic”


H/T Pitchfork