There’s still some time before Pendulum The Reworks album drops in full — so we woke up excited to feast our ears on Knife Party‘s remix for the iconic track “Blood Sugar” today.

No doubt, this version of the classic would “drop” well during a set. It certainly has that big room, in-your-face house appeal that hits well with today’s EDM crowd. However, we can’t help but notice, it sounds like something is missing here.

The track is still recognizable. The hook is still intact. But where’s the Knife Party sound we’ve been craving? That dirty electro vibe we’ve been fiending for only fizzles in the “Blood Sugar” remix. Overall, it sounds like the guys played it safe with this one.

Maybe our hopes were set to high. It’s just not everyday we get to hear Knife Party and Pendulum “join forces” like this. Regardless, this marks Knife Party’s first release since “Battle Sirens” with Tom Morello in 2016 — so we certainly have something to be pleased about.

The Reworks is set for a June 29 release and includes remixes from Skrillex, Grabbitz, Noisia, Matrix & Futurebound and more. See the full tracklist below.

Back to Knife Party’s “Blood Sugar” remix — it’s not bad, but we’re just a little disappointed. Fans on Reddit seem to agree. Let us know what you think!

Pendulum – Blood Sugar (Knife Party Remix)

The Reworks Tracklist

1 Hold Your Colour (Noisia Remix)
2 Blood Sugar (Knife Party Remix)
3 9000 Miles (Eelke Kleijn Remix)
4 The Island, Pt. 1 (Dawn) [Skrillex Remix]
5 Propane Nightmares (Grabbitz Remix)
6 Crush (Devin Townsend Remix)
7 Tarantula (Icarus Remix)
8 Witchcraft (Pegboard Nerds Remix)
9 Watercolour (Matrix & Futurebound Remix)
10 The Island, Pt. 1 (Dawn) [AN21 Remix]
11 Still Grey (DJ Seinfeld Remix)
12 Vault (Moby Remix)
13 Streamline (ATTLAS Remix)