The 2019 Juno music awards, Canada’s version of the Grammys, just announced its list of nominees. Historically, dance music has played a large part in the awards show, with Adventure Club, Deadmau5 and more receiving recognition for their work. Last year, Rezz received a Juno for ‘Electronic Album of the Year’ for Mass Manipulation.

This year, Rezz is nominated once again for her work on her sophomore album, Certain Kind Of Magic. Ekali, Felix Cartal, iamhill, and Milk & Bone are also nominated for their respective albums. (Though, Ekali’s Crystal Eyes is decidedly an EP.)

With regards to individual recordings, Loud Luxury (also nominated for Breakthrough Group of the Year) is a frontrunner for their track “Body,” though Dzeko & Tiësto could very well come away with the Juno for “Jackie Chan” with Preme and Post Malone.

If The Weeknd wins for Album of the Year for My Dear Melancholy, (also technically an EP), Skrillex and Gesaffelstein will also receive awards for their work on the record.

See the full nominees here and all electronic-related categories below.


Crystal Eyes Ekali (OWSLA/Atlantic Warner)
Next Season Felix Cartal (Physical Presents Fontana North/Universal)
Give It a Rest iamhill (Independent)
Deception Bay Milk & Bone (Bonsound Sony)
Certain Kind of Magic Rezz (mau5trap Kobalt)


Gotasoul Azari (Get Physical Indeependant/Zebralution)
Jackie Chan (ft. Preme & Post Malone) Dzeko & Tiësto (Universal)
Avatar Beach Jacques Greene (Arts & Crafts Universal)
Cura Keys N Krates (Keys N Krates Dim Mak)
Body Loud Luxury (Armada Music B.V Sony)


Photo via