Gesaffelstein’s return has been met with varying degrees of excitement, and at different times. At first, the excitement was electrifying, the talk of the town with anyone whom you met. And then, he dropped “Reset” and the initial luster was bright, but quickly faded. Then, he released “Lost in the Fire” with The Weeknd and people began doubting…

Now, we get our first look at the complete tracklist for Gesaffelstein’s upcoming sophomore studio album, Hyperion, and there’s a lot to digest. Collaborations with Pharrell and Haim clearly belie his new signing to Columbia Records; we had no doubt we’d see some pop collaboration on this record beyond the Weeknd track.

Apart from that, it’s hard to make any snap judgment just yet. With only 10 tracks, it’s likely to be shorter than his debut album Aleph, but will it have more depth? More complexity? Alas, probably not.

As it stands, Hyperion is the wildcard album of the year right now. It’s officially out March 8 via Columbia Records.


1. Hyperion
2. Reset
3. Lost in the Fire feat. The Weeknd
4. Ever Now
5. Blast Off feat. Pharrell Williams
6. So Bad feat. Haim
7. Forever feat. The Hacker & Bronwyn Griffin
8. Vortex
9. Memora
10. Humanity Gone