Arguably considered one of the greatest Trance legends of our current generation, the mighty John O’Callaghan has aptly lead the charge for the entire Uplifting community with his masterful storytelling and fiery, passion-fueled productions. As an international DJ, he has performed in some of the world’s leading Trance venues, including the O2 Academy in Leeds, Cream in Creamfields and The Hammerstein Ballroom in NYC, and has also smashed world renowned festivals including Global Gathering, Full On Ibiza and Trancemission. This year has been a particularly good year for this titantic talent, as he has teamed up with Uplifting masters Aly & Fila on a number of memorable occations which included Ultra Miami Music Festival and Trancefusion. To celebrate his stellar year in Trance and Uplifting, he is set to release his first ever mix compilation on his personal label of Subculture Recordings entitled The Residents, which is set to feature mixes from superstar prodigy Will Atkinson and fast rising Uplifting producer, The Noble Six.

First up on The Residents is a colossal mix from the main man himself, and he kicks things off with his fantastic single entitled One Special Particle. He has been delving quite deep as of late and the first track features the surreal craftsmanship of Guy J on remix duties. From there he unveils a new single under his Henrik Zuberstein alias entitled Caves and a cool Techno Trance chugger by Alex Di Stefano called Escape From The Past. Through his mix, he features exclusives including his free download of Soul Detention and a neat, Joint Operations Centre remix of Jordan Suckley’s Elation on Damaged Records, as well as shining Subculture releases including Sied Van Riel & Standerwick‘s In A Perfect World and ReOrder‘s upcoming vocal work entitled Hands Of Time with the wondrous lyrics of Sue McClaren.

Will Atkinson is known to be very experimental in his mixes, and throughout his mix of The Residents, he weaves through Breaks, Trance, Tech Trance and Psy for a one of a kind performance that only he can deliver. Will Atkinson has been on fire in 2014 with singles such as Eternally on FSOE and Victims on Subculture, (which is quickly on the fast run to becoming 2014’s track of the year). There’s a unique sort of freshness that exists throughout his mixes which include a mixture of classic, hidden Techno treasures and the latest in cutting edge sound design, and his collection certainly doesn’t disappoint. He features Breaks legends Under This to open up his mix before including the new Tech Trance punisher by Alex Di Stefano called Dark Purple and a new exclusive by Will underneath his House moniker, Josep, entitled With Light. Some highlights include his singles of Victims and Isolator, and his newest single of Sharpshooter is destined to slam and all listeners to the mat.

Finally, we have the mighty force of The Noble Six to finish things off with a brilliant, Uplifting journey that features the best of Trance in the world from artists such as Matt Bowdidge and Johan Ekman. The Noble Six first bursted onto the scene with their fantastic remix to Peter SantosDeja Vu and since then, they have been a disciple of the Egyptian duo, Aly & Fila. Since then, they have released singles such as his collaboration with Chris Metcalfe on Ocean Avenue, (a Subculture exclusive), and his remix to Neptune Project‘s Lost All Of My Tears. Throughout The Residents‘ final mix, he begins with Ferry Tayle‘s The Most Important Thing off of his 2014 album, The Wizard, before pulling the reins into Matt Bowdidge‘s Shadow Of You and Lee Osbourne & Allen WattsTelepathy. Finally, he finishes off with the euphoric talents of Indecent Noise‘s Glitches before pushing through with a brand new exclusive entitled Numb. The ending of the entire compilation showcased the best of the best in Trance today and while we heard other genres throughout the mix, we are ultimately reminded why Subculture reigns supreme within the international Uplifting community.

John O’Callaghan‘s The Residents mix compilation is out now on Subculture off of Beatport, so make sure you purchase a copy and support real talent!


Keep the music alive. -Q