It seems like it was just yesterday when Monstercat‘s 17th compilation album Ascension was released. The album was incredibly diverse, introduced a heap of new artists (StonebankAero Chord both had their debut on 017 and would go on to become two of Monstercat’s most popular artists) and featured some of their all-time biggest singles, making for what was arguably their best compilation album.

Two years and ten albums later, Monstercat has finally unveiled 027 – Cataclysm, which is arguably the only album that could top the insanity of 017 – Ascension. In anticipation for this album, we’ve seen tremendous artist progression (especially from ConroPIXL and PYLOT), astounding diversity and the addition of some absolutely HUGE names to the Monstercat roster (including MarshmelloSlushiiNGHTMREUnlike Pluto and Aruna).

Below, we have picked our five favorite tracks from the album. We would encourage you to listen to the whole thing yourself and let us know what your favorites are in the comment section below! Don’t sleep on this one!

Marshmello – Alone

To say the least, Marshmello’s Monstercat debut was surprising. Its infectious melody and greasy bassline were enough to convert me to the mello gang. “Alone” is currently the fastest-growing single in Monstercat history, currently sitting at #25 on Billboard’s Hot Dance/Electronic Songs” chart.

Slips & Slurs, Mihka! – WiFi Tears

Slips & Slurs absolutely murdered his first dubstep release. Although he was already a Monstercat fan favorite, he really cemented his place on the label with “WiFi Tears,” bringing along the talented Mihka! for the ride. This future bass/dubstep hybrid is absolutely bonkers, and is sure to get heads banging wherever it’s dropped.

Rootkit – Strung Out

Rootkit‘s “Strung Out” was the final single released for 027, and man is it good. “Strung Out” is some seriously hard-hitting bass house, some of the best I’ve heard in the last year. Listeners will be taken back to the feel of some of Rootkit’s more successful singles (like “Real Love” and “Concrete Jungle“) with this dirty jam.

Noisestorm – Leaving Now

Leaving Now” is both Noisestorm‘s first drum & bass track since 2014 and his very first vocal track. Although Noisestorm has always been a consistently good producer, I think he really hit the ball out of the park with “Leaving Now.” It’s euphoric melody, upbeat tone and vocals make for one of his best releases in a long while.

Mr FijiWiji, Direct & Aruna – Time to Say Goodbye

“Time to Say Goodbye” was the emotional closer to Mr FijiWiji‘s stellar Dogma EP. Although it wasn’t Mr FijiWiji or Direct‘s most unique production yet, Aruna‘s soaring vocals really made this one stand out above the rest. Hopefully we’ll hear more from Aruna on Monstercat in the near future.

Listen to Cataclysm and buy the album below:

Support on iTunes:
Support on Bandcamp:
Support on Google Play: